What is Ashtanga Yoga ?

Ashtanga Yoga is a system transmitted to the modern world by Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois, Mysore, India. Ashtanga Yoga literally means 8 limbs in Sanskrit. They are described by Patanjali as Yama (abstinences), Niyama (observances), Asana (postures), Pranayama (breath control), Pratyahara (sense withdrawal), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (absorption).

In the West, asana is the limb or discipline associated the most with yoga. It involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures. Ashtanga Yoga practiced in its correct sequential order, gradually leads the practitioners to rediscover his their potential on all levels of human consciousness. Through proper breathing (Ujjayi Breath), postures (Asana), gazing point (Drishti) and locks (Bandha), control over body and senses and awareness of ourselves are achieved. Vinyasa is the linking of asanas, a transition, where movement is synchronized with the breath. The breath is the essence and the heart of the discipline.


Classes and teachers

Mondays – Mysore practice (not for beginners),

19h00 to 20h30 at Cancer Support Group facilities in Joseph II 54

Tuesday – Led class by Klara

19h00 to 20h30 (max) at Cancer Support Group facilities in Joseph II 54

Thursdays – Led Class by Ulrich

19h00 to 20h30 (max) at BERL


If you are interested to join, please get in touch with Ulrich (



What to bring and wear to practice ?

Clothes: Wear comfortable sports clothes, tracksuit, t-shirt; something you feel good in when moving, twisting and streching. And sitting. And breathing. Mat: For those who do not have an own mat, there are some spare ones.

And: Bottle of water, towel, maybe a cushion or pad to sit on.


Eating and drinking

Please do not have heavy meals within 2-3 hours before class, otherwise it might feel uncomfortable during practice. Drink enough water before and after class.


Your prana dealers,

Klara and Ulrich

Comments are closed.